logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Impact of views about author on buying book As a reader, I have found that when I disagree with an author's views or actions, this has influenced me not to buy their books. As an author,

Eichhorn147 @Eichhorn147

Posted in: #Book

As a reader, I have found that when I disagree with an author's views or actions, this has influenced me not to buy their books.

As an author, I therefore wonder whether readers generally view the work as completely independent from the author's personal views? And what if the book is semi-autobiographical? Do readers see the author as part-and-parcel with the book as it tells much about its creator?

10.04% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (2) Report

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Twilah982

Twilah982 @Twilah982

A published book should be a totally independent entity from its creator.
However, as humans we can have a hard time to separate the authors’ views from his produced works.

For books where the author expresses his personal views, then yes a book could be judged in concert with the author stance.

For example Marion Zimmer Bradley, is a militant gay pagan feminist. That view is expressed in most of her books. If you are offended by her personal, sexual, political, or religious views, I can understand not reading her on that basis.

Lauren Ipsum: "I won't buy or read anything more from Orson Scott Card now that I know about his raging homophobia."

Orson Scott Card on the other hand, whatever his personal views, I don’t recall them being in his books.

What changed before and after, knowing some private thing about him, was his book altered, why should your perception of the author affect the books worth?

Also, for Americans of his generation "raging homophobia" was the norm, and still is in most of traditional America. Europe isn't that different, look at how Alan Turing was treated, for the crime ofbeing gay, by England.