logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : How do I avoid using punctuation inside quotation marks in technical writing? As a computer programmer, I comment my code. For example: The following lines are dependent on "source 1" and

Karen856 @Karen856

Posted in: #Quotes #TechnicalWriting

As a computer programmer, I comment my code. For example:

The following lines are dependent on "source 1" and "source 2".
"Source 2" is a user login and password. Overall, the purpose is to
retrieve an AWS token The ajax call to an AWS Gateway requires a
token.

I double quote "source 1" and "source 2" to make it clear they are entities.

Should I use double quotes or something else, such as italics or bold?
For double-quotes, should I put the period inside or outside the closing quotation mark?

10.04% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (4) Report

4 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Ravi5107385

Ravi5107385 @Ravi5107385

You might want to take a look at BNF, Backus-Naur form as a way to describe language elements and syntax. It's unambiguous and has been in use for a long time.You would use something like <source 1> and <source 2>.

This is a calling sequence definition from one of my bash scripts:

## kmprb ##
## Usage: kmprb [-ps <num>] [-1 [-rt]] ##
## [-b <num> | -B ] ##
## [ <file> ... ] ##
## -ps <num> override default print strategy ##
## with strategy <num> ##
## ##
## -1 call kmprb_one to print all 1 page jobs ##
## first ##
## ##
## -rt reformat text files before printing ##
## ##
## -b - break printing into batchs of no more ##
## than <num> sheets ##
## ##
## -B - same as -b, but get <num> interactively ##
## ##
## If -1 is specified, kmprb_one is called ##
## to allow the user to print all 1 page jobs ##
## first. -rt will be passed to kmprb_one to ##
## reformat text files with dprint ##
## ##
## If <file> ... is specified, then just those ##
## files (from the print queue) are offered for ##
## printing ##