logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Seeking advice - screenwriter looking to write novel All. I'm looking for some advice. I'm interested in writing a young adult mystery novel, but I don't believe I'm a good writer in the traditional

Radia543 @Radia543

Posted in: #Editing #Fiction #Ghostwriter #Novel #YoungAdult

All. I'm looking for some advice. I'm interested in writing a young adult mystery novel, but I don't believe I'm a good writer in the traditional sense. My background is in screenwriting, so my strengths are in conceptualizing, story/plot structure, and character development. While I still enjoy screenwriting, I don't like the odds of getting a script green-lit and produced, so I'm looking at writing novels as a way of scratching my writing itch and hopefully having a finished product I can be proud of. That said, I don't believe I write prose well enough to be commercially viable (e.g., descriptions, grammar, etc.).
Long story short, I'm wondering what the best path forward is. Should I storyboard/outline the novel and hand it over to a ghostwriter directly to write from scratch? Or should I write a "bad" first draft and hire an editor to rewrite it, ideally in a more compelling manner. Or any other paths you guys would recommend? In either case, I know there will be some costs associated, so that would also weigh into my decision. But any thoughts much appreciated.
Thanks!

10.03% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (3) Report

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Harper186

Harper186 @Harper186

Should I story board/outline the novel and hand it over to a ghost writer directly to write from scratch?

Or should I write a "bad" first draft and hire an editor to rewrite it, ideally in a more compelling manner.

That rumble in the distance is the sound of a thousand plotters and pantsers, marching towards this thread to wage war on each other.