bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Resource for someone better at editing than writing (I had a previous question, closed as too opinion-based, about being a better editor than writer. I wasn't able to rescue that one, but - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

(I had a previous question, closed as too opinion-based, about being a better editor than writer. I wasn't able to rescue that one, but I thought I'd take a try at a related question.)

I am an excellent editor, well able to work with someone to bring out the best in another author's writing, and I'm also very good with overall plot and structure. However, when it comes to writing fiction, I'm weak. I'm very impatient with the process, and my writing tends to be thin, rushed and elliptical.

I do well writing non-fiction, and I take a lot of enjoyment out of working with other people's writing, but fiction is a passion of mine, and I have some concepts of my own that I think are very strong. Are there any avenues for finding someone who wants to write to fit someone else's plot outline? It's not an arrangement I've ever really heard of (except when a famous author tires of working on a series and brings someone else in --usually to very mixed results).

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Kevin153

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

A good editor should also be a good writer. An editor might better anticipate the public response to a work, but it's hard to imagine an editor who isn't at least a competent writer. Most editors were once writers and wrote for years. Editors are also avid readers.

Concepts are great but bringing them to life is another thing.

How do you know you're A) not a good writer and B) an excellent editor? Were you told this by a credible person?