logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Writing song lyrics I find writing song lyrics really difficult -- maintaining a regular rhythm, making it rhyme and writing something that makes sense all at the same time. Does anyone have

Heady158 @Heady158

Posted in: #Lyrics #Poetry

I find writing song lyrics really difficult -- maintaining a regular rhythm, making it rhyme and writing something that makes sense all at the same time.

Does anyone have any tips for how to write song lyrics? (This is not about writers block. I have the material I want to include already written. It just isn't in the form of a poem.)

10.03% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (3) Report

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Shelton455

Shelton455 @Shelton455

I am not a professional writer but I do have some experience in writing poetry and lyrics. Sometimes I write the lyrics and give them to somebody else to find the right melody, and sometimes I have the melody to build up the lyrics on, which is of course more difficult.

I suggest that you read lots of books with different subjects, listen to people talking about things, and let your imagination 'fly' :) It really helped me!
Sometimes I do use the 'rhyme finder'on google but with a very good imagination and a complex vocabulary everything will come together pretty easily.

10% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report

@Kristi637

Kristi637 @Kristi637

Apart from SaberWriter's excellent suggestion, I can only offer the old standbys, read lots of lyrics (research), and write lots of lyrics (practice).

Writing good lyrics is notoriously difficult. There's a reason why even many hit songs have terrible lyrics.

It's also worth noting that even many good songs end up quietly sacrificing at least one of your desired traits (good rhythm, good rhyme, sense).

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report

@Phylliss352

Phylliss352 @Phylliss352