bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Publishing my first book - in an economical way I am a student, and have just completed writing my first book. A few of my friends went through it and said it was a good one. I wish to - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

I am a student, and have just completed writing my first book. A few of my friends went through it and said it was a good one.

I wish to publish the book, since I am a student I do not have any source of income, so can you suggest the best economical way to publish a book.

My book is a romance/religion type book.

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Angela458

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Good answers. You may also try to hire a literary agent. They work on commission, so they are motivated to get books to publication. Once you have an agent, they will generally stick with you (as long as they are making money off your work). We are past the age where you can go directly to a traditional publisher as an unheralded author, but I imagine there are exceptions.

Load Full (0)

10% popularity

Speaking just of paper books, i.e. not e-books (which others have already discussed):
There are basically three ways to publish a book:

"traditional" publisher;
vanity press;
print on demand.

Traditional Publisher
With a traditional publisher, it should cost you nothing. They may pay you an advance if you're lucky. You submit the manuscript, and if they like it they publish it. They keep some (most) of the price of the book and pay you royalties.

Advantages: Costs you nothing. You get the marketing power of the publisher behind your book.

Disadvantages: Unless you are already famous, it's difficult to find a publisher who is interested in a writer's first book. You lose a lot of creative control: the publisher will likely insist on many changes.

Vanity Press