bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Getting started with TV writing? I am a computer science student interested in writing for television. What are the key things that a newcomer needs to know to get started? For example, - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

I am a computer science student interested in writing for television. What are the key things that a newcomer needs to know to get started? For example, I know that a TV show requires a script, but probably even earlier you need some sort of description of your overall story/concept, and you need to be able to submit that somewhere.

What are the first things that a newcomer to the field of TV writing needs to know?

Load Full (2)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Ravi5107385

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

I don't know if you are still looking for answers and praise to GreenChum for such a comprehensive answer, but I would recommend that you first try writing a "Treatment". This is basically the story, in short prose, without dialogue, describing the characters and the action. Whilst a treatment is more commonly associated with film, it works for TV too, in as much as you can present a short overview of the what the show is all about and it clarifies the main plot points for you. If you Google "script treatment" I'm sure you will come up with lots of helpful advices. Or you are welcome to visit the company I work for shorescripts.com to access our free resources on script-writing. Best wishes with your writing.

Load Full (0)

10% popularity

If you want to sell your idea to a producer, you will have to write a synopsis, a logline and a title before worrying about writing the pilot. Since they receive hundreds of ideas, they can't spend too much time on each one of them. They will likely only spend one or two minutes on your idea, so all of those things have to be appealing and making they want more so they will order a pilot script.