bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How to become a master at creating wordplays? Puns introduced by authors make a text look witty to a reader. Professional writers skillfully manipulate words and phrases to demonstrate their smartness - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

Puns introduced by authors make a text look witty to a reader. Professional writers skillfully manipulate words and phrases to demonstrate their smartness and, most important, gain the affection of the audience. Personally, I see no other way to create a pun, except by accident. I think so because I am new at writing. Although, I totally understand that experienced ones use this stylistic device intentionally and do not spend hours thinking up a new pun.
So my question is: How can I acquire a skill to play on words? What steps should one take to make a pun?
Thanks in advance for your help.

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Carla500

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

To quote Oscar Wilde: Improve your own writing by reading the work of people you admire.

Oscar Wilde was a so-called 'Wit', someone invited to enliven parties. His conversation was pure entertainment, and his wit carried over in his writing. Highly recommended. His biography reads like a tragedy, sadly.

References: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oscar_Wilde blog.hubspot.com/marketing/oscar-wilde-writing-quotes-slideshare#sm.00001f3o3mtua6ergtboe2twihep9

Load Full (0)

10% popularity

Although, I totally understand that experienced ones... do not spend hours thinking up a new pun.

How do you know that?

Skills take time and practice. Maybe the good writers do spend hours working on puns.

If you want to practice at wordplay, you need to think about the meanings of words, and how they can be looked at obliquely. One exercise I did in high school was to take a list of common clichés and idioms and turn them into questions. For example: