bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : What exactly do I do to get published? I'm interested to know what the publishing process exactly entails for future reference. I'm in my last year of school and I recently finished my first - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

I'm interested to know what the publishing process exactly entails for future reference. I'm in my last year of school and I recently finished my first substantial piece of creative writing (a subject I chose for an exam related project). I presented my novel to an audience of school faculty and English Literature teachers and I was encouraged to find a publisher for the work. The feedback for what I have written is generally very positive and after I'm finished with exams, I want to polish the work and attempt to get it published: For future reference, how would I go about this?

I appreciate answers from those well versed in the rigours of what I understand is a difficult and frustrating process.

Load Full (2)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Gonzalez219

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

There's a good essay by Malinda Lo on the process. One of many, I'm sure, but that's the first good one I found on a cursory browse.

I'd like to point out that knowing the general process is probably not enough; at every step along the way, you should read and research and learn as much as possible. Publishing is an arduous, difficult field, full of slush. If you're committed, you want to do everything you can to avoid being slush.

Here's individual steps along the way that I suggest you learn about as much as you can.

Polishing and rewriting your book. Honing your craft, seeking out critiques and understanding what to take from them, and the painful art of revision.
Finding an agent.

You'll want an agent who's professional, capable, trustworthy, and whom you work well with.
You'll want to avoid scams, ripoffs, and incompetents.