bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Confusion about usage of present tense vs past tense vs mixed I am quite new to writing so I hope my question makes any sense. I'm trying to write a first draft of a story that has been - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

I am quite new to writing so I hope my question makes any sense.

I'm trying to write a first draft of a story that has been haunting me for quite a while. Even though I'm fine with it to fail, I would like to try and finish the story and incoorporate good practise writing techniques where I can.

I have been enjoying the tale and filling up the details I had not yet thought of in the past.

However when researching dialog vs action scenes I keep falling in the rhythm of using past tense for (dialog) actions and present tense when people are talking about stuff.

Now I've read a few questions that looked similar: this and this.
But people keep giving conflicting answers which confuses me what to do.

I guess it is a matter of taste, but how can I be sure?

So my real question is not really about if I should do past or present tense but rather how I can be sure my writing does not become too 'weak'.

Load Full (1)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Ravi5107385

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

I guess it is a matter of taste, but how can I be sure?

Some stories can be told in either tense and it won't alter the feeling of them drastically, the difference can be quite subtle. Also, some writers hate writing in present tense while some find it's the only tense that comes naturally to them. So it can be a matter of taste.

However, sometimes a change in tense can have a big impact on a story.