bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Permission to use open source data I am working on a technical book teaching users how to analyse data using geographic information systems. I would like to use data from an open source data - selfpublishingguru.com

10.01% popularity

I am working on a technical book teaching users how to analyse data using geographic information systems. I would like to use data from an open source data portal such as open source fire department data

My project would include redistributing the data with the book, analyzing the data in exercises for each book chapter and creating graphics and maps of the data.

Do I need to seek approval / permission to use this data in a book from the municipality?
Is this open data fair to use?
I am new to this topic so please feel free to offer suggestions on how to approach this issue.

Load Full (1)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Kimberly114

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Unfortunately, your link to resource refuses to resolve for me, so I cannot directly comment on the terms they've listed - I can tell you that most openly available GIS data will have a terms or disclaimer statement which explicitly defines the terms of use - most are actually quite permissive: some will even use copyleft, or creative commons licensing models.

This content below was copied from the Los Angeles county GIS portal's Terms of Use (the last GIS dataset I used in an architectural design context):

Terms of Use