bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Re: How to secure my written work from being stolen or copied before publishing? I'm a newbie in the field of writing. After writing a book, I need to visit a number of publishers. So, how do - selfpublishingguru.com

10% popularity

All the other answers are correct: copyright law protects your work even if it's not published and even if you haven't registered it in any way. This is true in the United States, the United Kingdom, and most countries around the world.

The chances of a publisher you submit your work to will steal it are beyond slim. But copyright theft suits do happen. They're not generally against publishers whose slush pile you contributed to, but it's not impossible.

Your job, God forbid you have a case that gets that far, is to prove that you created the work before the date that someone else says they created it.

The best way to prove that you had the work on a particular date is to register it with the Copyright office before any infringement takes place. You are not required to register it to maintain your copyright, though you will have to register it before making a claim. (My information is for the U.S. but it should be similar elsewhere as there are international copyright treaties.)

Registration establishes a claim to copyright with the Copyright
Office. An application for copyright registration can be filed by the
author or owner of an exclusive right in a work, the owner of all
exclusive rights, or an agent on behalf of an author or owner. An
application contains three essential elements: a completed application
form, a nonrefundable filing fee, and a nonreturnable deposit— that
is, a copy or copies of the work being registered and “deposited” with
the Copyright Office. A certificate of registration creates a public
record of key facts relating to the authorship and ownership of the
claimed work, including the title of the work, the author of the work,