bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Documenting software requirements As a self-taught developer the only requirement documents I've ever been privileged to read are those of hackerrank and the sort. However the more and more I - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

As a self-taught developer the only requirement documents I've ever been privileged to read are those of hackerrank and the sort. However the more and more I create my own increasingly complex programs, apps and sites the more I feel the need for a good requirement document. Since most of what I work on is my own work, I need to write those requirements.

What is the process for a software requirement documentation. I imagine it will describe what the product should provide to the end-user along with any perfermance/memory constraints. I also assume that it will have other constraints, such as where the data will be provided from. And it is probably independent of solutions. That comes later.

So am I on the mark, or missing anything? What do these documents look like?

Load Full (2)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Gail2416123

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Requirements can be broadly categorised as follows (using FURPS):

Functionality: functional requirements (see also this stack overflow question)
Usability: Human factors, aesthetics and style, consistency, documentation
Reliability: reliability requirements
Performance: quantifiable requirements such as response time
Supportability: requirements to ensure it is testable, configurable, able to be installed and serviced

If you are attempting to develop formal requirements, try ISO/IEC/IEEE 29148:2018 Systems and software engineering -- Life cycle processes - Requirements engineering.

For large systems, you could also look at approaches such as SYSMOD that you can use to model the requirements and the system architecture. Using this approach, you would: