logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Author and Illustration owner I paid an illustrator to do the art for my picture book and I now own the artwork. Am I then allowed to submit to agents as an author/illustrator? How does this

Cody1607638 @Cody1607638

Posted in: #Artwork #Authorship #PictureBooks

I paid an illustrator to do the art for my picture book and I now own the artwork. Am I then allowed to submit to agents as an author/illustrator? How does this work?

10.03% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (3) Report

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Heady158

Heady158 @Heady158

No, that would be dishonest. If you say "I am an illustrator", that means that you draw illustrations. The fact that I bought a piece of beef at the grocery store does not make me a cattle rancher. I own the beef, but I didn't raise the cow.

You can say, "I wrote this book and I also own the copyright on the illustrations" or something to that effect.

If you call yourself the "illustrator", you set yourself up that a publisher might say, "hey, can you make one more illustration?" or "would you be interested in illustrating this other book we have?", and then have to admit that you are not an illustrator and embarrass yourself.

10% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report

@Moriarity138

Moriarity138 @Moriarity138

Since you do already own these illustrations, you can use them as a self-publisher, or, in the case that a traditional publisher does want both, you should be entitled to all the royalties without splitting them. However, the original illustrator should still be credited. It's at-the-least unethical to claim their work as yours, even if you have legal ownership of it. Also, you should definitely make sure you have all rights and expectations for the images (and the compensation) spelled out in a signed contact.