logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Which term is more appropriate and mainstream in fiction: made up proper nouns or invented proper nouns? I am working with a beginner writer to help typeset their book for self-publishing. They

Candy753 @Candy753

Posted in: #Terminology

I am working with a beginner writer to help typeset their book for self-publishing. They would like to include an appendix which would explain the pronunciation of the numerous proper nouns that they had invented. It is the later word which is in question: is it more appropriate to refer to them as 'made up' or 'invented'?

10.02% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (2) Report

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Jamie945

Jamie945 @Jamie945

Neither. These are terrible options for titling a glossary appendix. Neither is anywhere in the neighbourhood of mainstream usage.

“Terrible” may sound harsh, but that’s my immediate reaction as a reader. As a writer, I can explain the reaction: They emphasize the author’s relationship to the words—the author made them up—but that kind of intrusion of the author is contrary to keeping your reader’s thoughts within a state of suspended disbelief where they’re more accepting of made-up words. The reader already knows most or all of those words are made up; they just want the meaning.

Title the appendix “Glossary” and be done with it.

If there’s a particular unified source of these new words within the fiction, you can incorporate that in the title to strengthen the in-fiction (as opposed to out-of-fiction) source relationship in the mind of the reader: “Glossary of Atevi Terms” or “Glossary of Shevek’s Math”.

Reading the comments rather than question, this section seems to have a different purpose than a glossary.

For an appendix of the author’s notes on invented language or terms, neither “invented” nor “made up” are great.

Be specific instead: what are these? Are they names of planets or people?