logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : How to avoid libel when writing a fictional account of a real event I was a researcher for many years and it is a habit that has its usefulness in writing but also some serious drawbacks.

Holmes449 @Holmes449

Posted in: #Characters #CreativeWriting #Legal

I was a researcher for many years and it is a habit that has its usefulness in writing but also some serious drawbacks.

The usefulness is that it helps create believable plots and functional physics in your novel. Nothing irritates me more than reading a science fiction story that seems more magic than science. If you prefer to write fantasy, fine, that genre works for me too, but don't violate the fundamental laws of physics in science fiction.

Now, the drawback of intensive research. Detailed writing in fiction can get the writer sued for libel if they are not careful about how they present their characters. Am I just being a worrywart? You tell me:

Scarlett Johansson won a defamation suit against a French writer for
creating a promiscuous character who happened to look like the movie
star. A Georgia jury awarded 0,000 to a woman who claimed a
character in The Red Hat Club falsely portrayed her as an “alcoholic
s**t.”
helensedwick.com/how-to-use-real-people-in-your-writing/

Well, that doesn't sound too fun especially if one is a struggling writer living on a meager income. The author of the above article gives useful advice but some simply don't work for me. For instance:

If what you write about a person is positive or even neutral, then you
don’t have defamation or privacy issues.

So if I want to write a fictional story that has Einstein as a time-traveling psychopathic killer that may be fine, but if I even suggest that he WAS a time-traveling psychopathic killer then I may as well lawyer up.