logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : How to write a scene in third person limited when the POV character is not in it? I am studying the third person POV for my novel. I read about the third person limited POV. I don't understand

Samaraweera193 @Samaraweera193

Posted in: #Pov

I am studying the third person POV for my novel. I read about the third person limited POV. I don't understand how can one write a scene when the POV character is not present in the scene. I have just started reading on POV and have got extremely confused about the omniscient, limited, and head-hopping.

10.04% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (4) Report

4 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Miguel976

Miguel976 @Miguel976

Maybe you can have another character point out to the main character that he/she is making stuff up. For example Penny does this to Leonard in the episode The Staircase Implementation

10% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report

@Deb2945533

Deb2945533 @Deb2945533

The simplest answer is that you don't show that scene. You have the main character learn about it after it happened, or you just leave it out of the story.
Deciding to write in third person limited is a decision to constrain yourself. Constraints are valuable in art because art is all about making decisions, and if you have fewer decisions to make, you may be able to make them better. They also force you to problem-solve, and the hard solutions end up being more interesting to the reader than the easy ones.
Ultimately, though, it's your story and you can do what you want. On the principle that there's nothing quite like an example, the Harry Potter series is almost entirely third person limited to Harry's point of view, but there are a number of sections that either use a different character's POV or take a more omniscient perspective.

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report

@Samaraweera193

Samaraweera193 @Samaraweera193