logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Should I rigorously follow 15 beat structure for writing my novels? I am a novice writer with one novella published on Amazon. Recently I undertook a MOCC on Udemy called Write a Bestselling

Nimeshi163 @Nimeshi163

Posted in: #CreativeWriting #Novel

I am a novice writer with one novella published on Amazon. Recently I undertook a MOCC on Udemy called Write a Bestselling Novel in 15 Steps. Then I also googled and researched the the 15 step structure. It felt like this structure is recommended by many on blogs and on youtube.
Basically, what it is; screenwriter Blake Snyder's book Save the cat rewritten for novelists. So the steps are created for writing novels using the steps for screenwriting.
I am about to start writing my second novel which is an action thriller. I tried to run my idea past the steps given but was not able to fit everything as taught.
I have two questions here,
1. Does the novel writing community adhere to these 15 steps? In other words, does everybody(movies and novels) in the present times follow these 15 steps and are they widely known?
And
2. Should I rigorously follow these steps if I have to write an epic novel or should these steps be taken as mere guidelines?

10.01% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (1) Report

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Jessie137

Jessie137 @Jessie137

No and no.
The 'rules of writing' are more like suggestions, but if there's one rule you should take for gospel it's 'mistrust anyone who will sell the secret to writing a best-seller for just .99 plus shipping and handling.'