logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : What are some good (free) writing communities? I'm new to writing, I just finished the first draft of the first novel I've written (yay!) and I'm looking for writing groups or communities that

Cugini967 @Cugini967

Posted in: #Blog #Community #WritingGroups

I'm new to writing, I just finished the first draft of the first novel I've written (yay!) and I'm looking for writing groups or communities that I can benefit from. Is there a community that helps people get feedback on their writing, or one that gives advice? Anything really :)

10.03% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (3) Report

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Shakeerah107

Shakeerah107 @Shakeerah107

If you're aiming for professional publication, I'd suggest that you look for writers groups that have a good history of turning out professional writers. E.g. communities I've been involved in have included hatrack.com writers forum (where Mary Robinette Kowal was a member at the time) and fmwriters.com (several members of which published novels with top-tier publishers while I was a member, e.g. Wen Spencer). There are plenty of others with a similar track record.

10% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report

@Sent2472441

Sent2472441 @Sent2472441

There are far too many online sites to list. A few I've used are and some of the writers on these sights were tremendously helpful, while others were less so.

Scribophile
Critters

Local Groups

Look on Meetup to find local writers groups that meet to critique each others work
google 'writer's groups near me' and you'll likely find listings of local writers that meet on zoom -- during covid-19 pandemic -- or in a public spaces like a library that are open to the public.