logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : How would you torture one of your MC without having a permanent injury? I am a young author writing a fantasy series. I have been thinking about this for a while. In my fourth book, one

Gretchen741 @Gretchen741

Posted in: #Antagonist #Characters #Protagonist

I am a young author writing a fantasy series. I have been thinking about this for a while. In my fourth book, one of my MC’s gets captured by the antagonist. Th MC that was captured is the closest person to the MC ( the first person narrator). The antagonist knows this and instead of killing him, tries to get information about the MC out of him with torture.
I’m pretty sure it’s not possible to go through something like that(MC rescues him) and be perfectly fine in say, a year or so. He would still have mental and physical damage for the rest of his life.
The problem is, he can’t be injured or crippled. I need him to be fine for the rest of the series. So how do I do that in a logical way? Maybe he wouldn’t be completely fine, but still well enough to stay sane and fight with the rest of the characters. But he can’t just have a few bruises, cuts, and minor burns. That’s not really torture, and that would be super nice of my antagonist who is a horrible horrible person. He’s gonna have missing limbs or something like that.

10.01% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (1) Report

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Kristi637

Kristi637 @Kristi637

Magic/Psychological