logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : I developed this character in the second book instead of the first I am a young author writing a fantasy series. In my series, I have five main characters. Camryn, Dylan, Willow, Jason, and

Annie587 @Annie587

Posted in: #CharacterDevelopment

I am a young author writing a fantasy series. In my series, I have five main characters. Camryn, Dylan, Willow, Jason, and Sarah.
In the first book the main character of the six and the first person narrator (Camryn) went through extremely hard decisions,(that could get thousands of people killed) came to terms with the death of her family,(which she blamed herself for) found out her little brother was alive only to have him die again, led an army, defeated who she thought was the bad guy, and then figured out that the actual person she needed to kill to set the planet free couldn’t actually be killed.
While all this was happening, the other five MCs sat in the back and didn’t really do anything. I decided that each book would put a different MC in a tough spot, so they each went through something like this. The flattest MC of them all was Jason.
Jason (in the first book) seemed to be a pretty straightforward guy. He helped out, kept everyone’s spirits up, and pretty much just acted as the comic relief. He’s a pretty flat character, even though he’s a main one. He didn’t even have a backstory, and he was the only character without one.
For the second book, I decided that Camryn couldn’t be the only person losing people and making tough decisions. While the second book is still told from her POV, I decided to make this one about Jason.
I also decided that he would be a spy.
In the first book, the bad guys always knew where my characters were, what they were doing, who cared about who the most, etc. this doesn’t really make sense, unless they had a man on the inside, which is exactly what Jason was.