bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : What is the proper usage and etiquette for using press releases from an external source on a website? I recently started a MLB baseball website. On the site, we focus on covering the Kansas - selfpublishingguru.com

10.01% popularity

I recently started a MLB baseball website. On the site, we focus on covering the Kansas City Royals and all of the Royals' minor league affiliate teams. For each minor league affiliate, I receive all team press releases and all other media releases, including: pre-game notes, post-game notes, series notes, roster transactions and everything else offered to the media by the teams.

I am new to this aspect of sports writing, so I am unfamiliar with the etiquette. Are these releases meant to be published as is? Are they meant to be an aid in writing my own articles on the topic? How are the press releases supposed to be cited, since many times there is not an actual publicly available copy on the teams' websites?

Any additional advice on how to use press releases would be greatly appreciated as well.

Thanks.

Load Full (1)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Sims2267584

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

How you use this material is ultimately up to you and will depend on how you structure your site. If you are basically just providing a stopping point for fans to come and obtain this information, then use it as is and attribute the information to the team. Below is an example on how you might do this.

Press Release - 6/16/2012 - Baltimore Orioles

If you choose to write your own stories based on this information, then you should still provide attribution so that readers know the source of your information. These press releases and other information are just sources, and as such should be acknowledged. One way to do this would be to provide a closing tagline such as this: