logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Is a 'tutorial format' acceptable for personal notes? I am a software developer, as I get older, I find myself with the issue of not having as much time to learn as I once did. My learning

Merenda569 @Merenda569

Posted in: #Notes #Structure #Tutorial

I am a software developer, as I get older, I find myself with the issue of not having as much time to learn as I once did. My learning schedule has gone from 'whenever I have time' to 2 hours or so a week.

I have been looking to document my learning so I can make more efficient use of my time, however, I have ran in to problems when trying to lay out my notes.

I keep finding myself returning to a format similar to what could be considered a tutorial but I worry this may not be the best way to take notes.

I would appreciate any insight people have who document their learning or work on a regular basis. Cheers.

EDIT:

For clarity my question is this:

I have made the assumption that writers are more adept at keeping notes than others. I am asking what particular styles of note keeping do you find works and why. My current style is to write my notes in a format that is similar to how you would write a tutorial on a subject. These style of notes tend to be "addressed" to a "reader" and also tend to be more long winded than I would like.

My notes end up reading as if I wrote them to teach somebody else on a given topic and this does seem natural, yet very inefficient. I was hoping writers, who tend to have to plan stories, plots and characters could give me an insight into how they translate all this information for thought to paper in a structured format.

10.01% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (1) Report

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Debbie451

Debbie451 @Debbie451