bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How to get a programming book published So I feel I'm a pretty good programmer in my area of expertise. Whats the process for writing a book about my niche and getting it published? - selfpublishingguru.com

10.01% popularity

So I feel I'm a pretty good programmer in my area of expertise. Whats the process for writing a book about my niche and getting it published?

Load Full (1)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Gonzalez219

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

That depends entirely on a number of factors:

What's your motivation? (Thanks, Steven Burnap for this one.) Do you just want to get it out there to share your knowledge? Or are you looking to make money (hint - you probably won't make much money off your first book, no matter what route you go)?
Dead tree? Ebook? Both? Something else? This is going to determine what channels you can use to get your book out there.
Big house, small house or self publish? This will greatly determine how soon you get out there, how much money you have to invest and stand to make, and a number of other things.
Who's editing this beast? Most books go through an extensive editing process. Do you want a professional editor? Do you want to hire said professional yourself?

Once you've answered those questions, you have to consider your options:

Dead Tree Publishing vs eBook Publishing

If you want print books, you need to find someone that will print your books. Theoretically, you could go straight to a printer, but most people will go through a publisher that handles that kind of thing.

Conversely, eBooks tend to be quicker to get to market, have a lower up front cost, and have more self-publishing options available (for all three, the main reason is not having to print physical books). Additionally, including an eBook can also allow you to submit it to places like Safari Books Online, which can help get it exposure.