logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : HTML Formatting for ebook I uploaded my short story on Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) yesterday. All went well and I am excited, given this is my first attempt to publish anything! I did some

Si5022468 @Si5022468

Posted in: #Ebook #Formatting #Kindle

I uploaded my short story on Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) yesterday. All went well and I am excited, given this is my first attempt to publish anything!

I did some research prior to making the above attempt. Obviously, I wanted to get it right from the start.

The one thing I was constantly alerted to by others was formatting. This included advice on using a professional, a third company etc. I am unsure whether it related to using a service provider such as Lulu (i.e. unsure if the latter related to formatting only or wider matters, including publishing on multiple platforms through lulu etc.)

I appreciate the tips and advice I got.

I was told to do HTML formating and all the coding was beyond me.

I am unsure where I read it but I followed the following steps:

Typed my story in Word (It was just three pages; I wanted to start with something I could manage.)
Use the indent feature (under paragraph tab) to set the paragraphing.
Saved my file as Web Page Filtered. I was told to use this (rather than Web Page) because it took care of the hidden codes in the document.

I then logged into KDP and uploaded my document, previewed the format and then clicked OK.

All the above was relatively easy.

Question: Is there anything I am not doing in terms of formatting my document in HTML?

10.04% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (4) Report

4 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Rambettina586

Rambettina586 @Rambettina586

As said above, MS word was not created to do this task. A quick search on Google found a program called Sqribble. It's paid cloud-based software.

10% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report