bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Screenwriting: Help with paragraph length. I have a descriptive paragraph, at the beginning of a scene: INT. VICTIM’S BASEMENT - NIGHT ------, a professional criminal, and serial killer, is hard - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

I have a descriptive paragraph, at the beginning of a scene:

INT. VICTIM’S BASEMENT - NIGHT
------, a professional criminal, and serial killer, is hard at work in the basement of an unsuspecting victim. The clock can be seen to his left, it reads 3:00 AM.

How long should that description paragraph run? Can it be 8 to 10 lines in some cases? When should I switch to a new paragraph?
I'm totally new to this, and I'm just writing this for fun. This is my very first scene.

Load Full (2)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Yeniel532

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Ideally, your descriptions shouldn't last more than 4-5 lines per paragraph. A good rule of thumb is to try and condense what you want to describe in a few short paragraphs, with each paragraph describing one aspect of your scene. So in your case, you might have one short paragraph describing the state of the room the murderer is in (if its an important point of your script), while you would have a second paragraph describing the murderer (Is he sweating? Completely calm? Dressed unusually? Does he have some descriptive tic that will eventually give him away?).