bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How long can a writer expect to write before publishing his/her first novel? By "How long" I'm assuming from the time they actually start trying to actively publish to the time they finally - selfpublishingguru.com

10.04% popularity

By "How long" I'm assuming from the time they actually start trying to actively publish to the time they finally get published. For example, I've been writing since I was 10 years old - but if I ever (finally) publish a book one of these days, I'm certainly not going to tell people that it took me 20 years.

I realize that the time frames will also vary, but I am wondering if there are any general patterns. I've known far too many people who have churned out a book in six months and expected to become a famous, published author right away. I don't expect that - I've been trying for three years. But it can become discouraging sometimes.

I'm not interested in self-publishing, by the way. This is a question specifically addressing the 'traditional' publishing industry.

I would especially be interested in hearing from people who have actually gotten a book published - how long it took them to get to that point.

EDIT: Edited the title question for clarity's sake.

Load Full (4)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Shakeerah107

4 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

I'm inclined to invoke the Niven rule (named for well-known science fiction author Larry Niven): "You have to write about a million words of crap before you get to the good stuff." Niven was on record as counting himself lucky, in that he inherited money and was able to write full time, hence getting through his "million words" in a year or so (BTW, that isn't a bad figure for words per year at full time; my partner writes romance, and produces approximately a million words of published work a year).