logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : Are collection of short stories more likely to sell than single short stories? I'm about to finish a short story (9000 words). But since I already have another two (7000 words and 6000 words),

Candy753 @Candy753

Posted in: #Kindle #Publishing

I'm about to finish a short story (9000 words). But since I already have another two (7000 words and 6000 words), I was wondering whether I should publish the work as a mini collection of short stories. I thought about this because I've never seen a famous author publish a standalone short story.

I'm a new author and I'm planning to publish the ebook at Amazon via Kindle Direct Publishing.

What would be my best choice?

10.05% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (5) Report

5 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Lee1909368

Lee1909368 @Lee1909368

Imagine that you have three potential readers, Alice, Bob, and Carol, and three stories, X, Y, and Z. Alice would pay for X, for Y, and for Z. Bob would pay for Y, for Z, and for X. Carol would pay for Z, for X, and for Y.

If you offer X+Y+Z as an anthology for , you will get three readers for each story and in gross sales. If you offer them separately for each, you will get two readers for each story and in gross sales.

This is why newspapers bundle up news, sports, and arts into one edition instead of selling them separately, and why cable-TV providers don’t let you subscribe to channels on an individual basis.

10% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (0) Report

@Gretchen741

Gretchen741 @Gretchen741