bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Traditional vs. Self Publishing... Show me the Money? As a beginning writer, I need to have a broad view of the financial side of writing. How much to expect and how different types of publishing - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

As a beginning writer, I need to have a broad view of the financial side of writing. How much to expect and how different types of publishing affect benefits.

There are no threads I am aware of that deal exclusively with the revenues one can expect from their writings.
Yes, we are most likely not going to get rich writing, but some of us dream of making a living at it.

If you need to know from where your next meal is coming, you better have a pretty specific idea and not some tentative nebulously vague noncommittal platitude about earnings.

Obviously these numbers vary enormously, here the focus if beginning writers (first time writers, or early career writers (under 5 books published)), non-fiction books, genre and mainstream.

How much can you expect from writing a novel?

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Hamaas631

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Check out Author Earnings.

There are lots of debates about the collection, meaning, and significance of the data, but there's plenty of data.

Load Full (0)

10% popularity

It's very difficult to have hard answers for questions like this because there are way too many variables. "Traditional" publishing is not a monolith - there's a lot of difference between publishing with the Big 5 and publishing with a small e-publisher, and a lot of difference between publishing with a reputable, established e-publisher and a fly-by-night startup.