bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Putting together an effective writing blog I'm a part-time freelance writer, and I'd like to put together a blog to showcase my writing through posts and to link visitors to my work on other - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

I'm a part-time freelance writer, and I'd like to put together a blog to showcase my writing through posts and to link visitors to my work on other sites. However, I'm a little bit lost about what exactly I should do with the site. Ideally, I'd like to write blog posts that act as samples of my writing - basically, to show the kind of writing that paying clients would receive for their own sites or magazines or whatever. For that reason, I'm planning to write posts on a wide variety of subjects. I've also read, though, that blogs that have no focus in terms of subject don't really attract long-term readers. (I've also read the "Mixing topics in a blog" post.)

So I'm wondering about the best way to go here. I'm not exactly looking for long-term readers, I guess; I'm just looking to attract clients. But I still have to attract them. Any ideas?

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Shelley992

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

You can use something like Squarespace which is dot-com website platform that is optimized for non-technical creative people to make their own Web presence. It has pages (timeless writings) and also has a blog (journal writings) and also redirects (which are great for marketing) built-in. You would create pages for your writing, use the blog to document your ongoing writing career adventure, and use redirects to link out to things you are doing elsewhere on the Web.

As an example, if Ernest Hemingway was working right now, he would make story pages at:
ernesthemingway.com/the-sun-also-rises http://ernesthemingway.com/a-farewell-to-arms ernesthemingway.com/the-old-man-and-the-sea