bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Is there a standard for describing a form in a programming specification? I'm a web programmer at a small web firm. When we have a larger programming project, I write a specification document - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

I'm a web programmer at a small web firm. When we have a larger programming project, I write a specification document for the client to review, make necessary changes, and eventually approve.
Our clients are not very tech-savvy, so I always include an overview of the programming, written in simple prose. I think they get that part… it's the point at which I describe the, well, technical aspects I'm afraid is going over their heads.
What I do to try to make it easier, is create a table that explains what is being collected and how.
For example, a simple contact form would include a table similar to he following:
| Field | Type | Options | Notes |
--------------------------------------------------------------
| Name* | Text | | |
| Email* | Text | | Will ensure valid format |
| State* | Dropdown | US States | |
| Comments | Textarea | | |

I'll explain what the asterisk indicates in a paragraph above, and I always describe the field types in footnotes, the first time the field is mentioned. But, as my specifications have gotten more complicated, and the data collected has become more lengthy, I've started to wonder if there's a better way.
I've researched this (here, UX.SE, and Google in general), but I've found very little and nothing specific. Usually, the examples are for in-house documents, not for those who think websites are magic.
TL;DR
Is there a standard way of explaining form fields/database data/collection methods to a non-techie client?

Load Full (2)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Nimeshi163

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity