bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How to elaborate a crime case I would try to write something as Crime-Detective Story. I'm a beginner of this genre and the first obstacle I find is the "idea" of a crime. I mean, I don't - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

I would try to write something as Crime-Detective Story. I'm a beginner of this genre and the first obstacle I find is the "idea" of a crime.
I mean, I don't know how to model a crime to make it interesting and to make it able to involve readers.
Actually, I have a small idea but I have difficulties to make it a not ordinary crime-case.
Do you have any advice or technique that can help me in this strange creative process?

Load Full (2)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Chiappetta298

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

I'm actually inclined to think that knowing the solution (i.e. planting clues) before knowing the crime, and knowing the crime before the knowing the solution are both imperfect methods, since neither are really the thing that the reader is interested in.

I strongly suspect that what people like about detective stories isn't so much the answer, or the details of the crime, as it is the relationship between the clues and the answer. People like trying to guess, and they like it even better when they feel like they could have guessed (because it all makes perfect sense, in retrospect), but didn't, because the writer constructed the story so cleverly.

My advice, then, is to first work out the sort of reasoning that the character(s) will use to solve the crime. Think about the sort of logic that detectives use (in stories, at least; though probably in real life too):
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inference en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inductive_reasoning