bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : I'm an editor who generally uses Word to communicate changes with my authors. Is Adobe's InCopy better for this task? For all of my editing work I'm currently using Microsoft Word. But I've - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

For all of my editing work I'm currently using Microsoft Word. But I've heard a bit about Adobe's InCopy being good for editing and publishing. Is it really better? What makes it better than Word?

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Sims2267584

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

AFAICS, Incopy is almost only used in the production of periodicals for whom the workflows and editing interface is tailored. For this situation it is ideal, allowing assignment of responsibilities at the editing stage, version management, separation of content from layout, and concurrent proofing of texts at the typesetting stage in a typesetter-friendly manner.

It is entirely unreasonable to impose the requirement of working with Incopy on a non-employee, and I have never heard of anyone being asked to. So the answer is no, Word is better.

Load Full (0)

10% popularity

This is a matter where the software quality is not the issue. Instead there are two questions: what your writers have and use, and which features you use for editing.

Depending on your answer to the second question, the first issue may be relatively minor. I use Word for all my editing for the simple reason that its revision marking features and comments are the best I've encountered... and most of my authors have it. The articles I assign have little in the way of formatting, other that italics and bullets; all the formatting comes from the Web content management system. So the "word processing" features are not stressed at all.