bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How to balance relatability in a story with unique world building? I believe this falls well outside the world-building acceptable topics, so I have come here looking for advice! As a world - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

I believe this falls well outside the world-building acceptable topics, so I have come here looking for advice!

As a world builder, I want to produce languages, settings, flora and fauna, and combine them all into on seamless world

As a 'writer' (I am a strong writer in anyway) I want to connect with the reader, and convey particular thoughts and feelings.

Sometimes I may create a world to support a story, other times I may create a story to give life to a world.

With the latter however it can be difficult to produce a story that is readily accessible to readers while fully exploring the world if only because the world is unique enough that the reader may have difficulty relating to the setting.

How can we balance the two? And are there any easy ways to allow readers become invested in, or be able to relate to, a story world that made to be different?

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Candy753

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

One way could be to tell your story as the narrator of a wild-life documentary.

I'd guess that the perceptions and surroundings of a common ant is completely alien from our own experience. Yet, we could still tell a story of the rise and fall of our local backyard ant-hill. Build suspense. Create individuals and their struggles. We'd observe the daily happenings, ant x does y, then z because a wasp attacked. From there it's not a large step to dramatize these events and create human-centered metaphors.