logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : How to avoid becoming frustrated while writing Very often when I start writing something, mainly notes for my work (I'm a researcher) but other times personal thoughts, I feel that my writing

Rivera824 @Rivera824

Posted in: #Organization #Process

Very often when I start writing something, mainly notes for my work (I'm a researcher) but other times personal thoughts, I feel that my writing speed can't keep up with my stream of consciousness.

Just to give an example, I was writing down on my notebook a question that I wanted to post on interpersonal.stackexchange but, as soon as I started with the main question, I ended up thinking about all the details that I want to add. I became frustrated at my inability to produce something and after a while I stopped writing (which pushed me to write this post).

In addition, I usually keep rereading what I've just written again and again and again, and keep changing it but without adding much to the subject.
I think I spent more than half an hour to write down this question.

Apart from writing more and more often to train the "writing muscle" what would you suggest to avoid this situation?

10.04% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (4) Report

4 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Voss1744584

Voss1744584 @Voss1744584

This is something that has happened with me dozens and dozens of times. I have been following the below steps to keep this problem at bay.

Jot down SHORT POINTS first. Only when this list of short points is complete, should you begin to elaborate.
Don't stop mid-sentence to think about the words you've written so far. It will stress you out completely. Besides, you will find it difficult to finish your work.
Don't chase an unattainable idea of perfection. Trying to be perfect is great, but overthinking everything and being OVERTLY CRITICAL of your work is horrible.