bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Writing romance when I have little experience in it I'm in high school, and have had few romantic relationships. The few that I have had were very unhealthy. I have pretty much no good - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

I'm in high school, and have had few romantic relationships. The few that I have had were very unhealthy. I have pretty much no good experience with romance.

How can I write romance when I don't really know what it's like in real life? How can I keep clichés out of my romance writing when clichés and media portrayal of relationships are literally the only "normal" romantic relationships that I've been exposed to?

EDIT: This question is specifically about how to write accurate and healthy romance when I haven't had healthy or real-world romantic relationships. Technically I have in fact experienced romance and romantic feelings, I just don't know how to communicate something in my writing for which I have little knowledge of.

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Sue2132873

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

A story romance should have:

a call to action, or an inciting incident
a try/fail cycle, or a mid-point conflict that makes the goal
seem
unobtainable
the MC should have a personal realization, or
make a personal sacrifice before it can be resolved

in other words, treat the romantic arc like any other plot element. Give it a structure and narrative beats so it can grow and evolve. Create a built-in flaw from the start, then raise the stakes.

Once you have some of the "romantic arc" plotted, work to fit it into your main plot. It should influence, and be influenced by, other story elements so the romance doesn't feel tagged on or inconsequential, rather it is woven in with the rest of the timeline.