bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Writing based on the context or theme I'm totally new to this field as well as this site and going to learn on my own and need a direction for this specific area I want to learn. I want - selfpublishingguru.com

10.01% popularity

I'm totally new to this field as well as this site and going to learn on my own and need a direction for this specific area I want to learn.
I want to understand what I need to learn and which direction I need to go to acquire these specific skills and I can use an example of script (background voice) of this show called Dragon's Den.
What fascinated me is the creative use of words related to the idea/industry/field of the idea pitch presented, recycling it's meaning with a twist.
For example, in this show (15m), the pitch was for switching plans for energy companies. The creative words used within the context.

new laws protecting personal data could short-circuit their chances (3:11)
not joining their utility revolution (4:32), double meaning utility as to energy company as well as the idea website as a utility.
ready to supply his verdict on the proposition (5:35)
electrifies the den using his track record (7:10)
encouraging the entrepreneurs to switch to her deal (8:42)
is she about to turn up the heat in the dead (8:50)
two switched-on dragons (14:44)

The question is around how can I acquired the skills to recycle the use of words creatively, any books or trainings appreciated.
P.S. Is there a some specific terminology for such creative use of words in the creative writing industry?

Load Full (1)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Shelton455

1 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

This is wordplay.

Word play or wordplay1 (also: play-on-words) is a literary technique
and a form of wit in which words used become the main subject of the
work, primarily for the purpose of intended effect or amusement.