bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Does the 'writing-style' change when book gets translated into another language? I am studying the writing style of Leo Tolstoy by reading an English translation of Anna Karenina. As a general - selfpublishingguru.com

10.02% popularity

I am studying the writing style of Leo Tolstoy by reading an English translation of Anna Karenina.

As a general rule, do translations affect the original style? In what ways?

Load Full (2)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Shelton455

2 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

I highly recommend Douglas Hofstadter's Le Ton Beau De Marot: In Praise Of The Music Of Language which deals in depth with exactly this question.

In short: yes! There are endless decisions to be made in translating between one language and another, making the job of a translator extremely complex. They are artists and writers themselves, not mere transcribers.

If you want to capture Tolstoy's "style" without actually reading Russian, your best bet is probably to find a number of different translations of his book, to compare/contrast.

Load Full (0)

10% popularity