logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : How to do a non-binary character? I'm currently writing a novel in my spare time, though i like how its going the main character is a non-binary young adult, I try hard to make sure it doesn't

Gonzalez219 @Gonzalez219

Posted in: #Characters #CreativeWriting #Fiction #Gender

I'm currently writing a novel in my spare time, though i like how its going the main character is a non-binary young adult, I try hard to make sure it doesn't sound off when people are using they/them pronouns. I like to think the character is relatively strict when it comes the their pronouns, so I kinda hate the idea of changing the character because I have a large personal attachment to them.
So I would love to hear others opinion. (I'm new to writing and do this as a hobby so please be gentle, I know my writing is not as good as you lovely people. Also I haven't done any proper editing to this so if you see any mistakes please tell me ^^)

With a quick kiss on the cheek and a smile Anibelle got out of the car. Quickly walking to the front gate, she looked over her shoulder and waved goodbye to her sibling, a weak smile adorning her face, she walked away. Archer couldn't help but worry, thoughts of Ani getting bullied and getting hurt raced through their mind. Quickly shaking their head to clear their head, they pulled out the parking spot they were occupying and drove out the lot. Worry and fear going through their head, something caught them off guard.A low growl coming through Archer’s stomach. “I thought I ate something this morning… How odd.” Thinking about it now, they had eaten with Anibelle this morning, since they woke up early to make home fries and eggs.

10.03% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (3) Report

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Miguel976

Miguel976 @Miguel976