bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Re: Is there such a thing as a "setting sketch" for a science fiction writing? I took a look tonight at the post titled What are the pros and cons of building the setting before the characters - selfpublishingguru.com

10% popularity

It's worth considering the fact that characters are a product of their world, and their world is a product of key characters:

I work in IT,
working in IT defines a big part of who I am,
IT makes up a huge part of the world I live in,
IT is a product of people like Babbage and Turing.

In short I find World Building is best as a free form exercise and Character Building is as much a part of world building as world building is a part of character building.

I write in LaTeX and use a template with a folder containing a file for plot details, one for world details and one for characters: Write LaTeX Fiction Template

I find that it best to just start chucking down thoughts and as stuff develops I jump files and add things as needed. As an example:

Character:
Kingdom Reynolds – Born the last son of the High Vassal to the king of Hengholm, Kingdom had no hope of ever taking his father’s
prestigious position. Instead he devoted his life to making as much disreputable
use of his tenuous title as possible. A decision he may come to
regret.

I just came up with it, it isn’t much (or very original) but all of a sudden I have a world name, a ruler, a social structure…

Character:
The King – Once a man of grace and power, the King brought peace to the land and hammered the warring nations into the vassalages that now hold the land together in peace. He has not been seen in person for many years, and the High Vassals are often vague on their interactions; it isn't that they're lying, it's more like they can't remember all of their encounter with him.^