bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Writing first programming book I was recently asked if I was interested in writing a book for a pretty reputable publisher, which of course I accepted. I am not a writer by trade, I am a - selfpublishingguru.com

10.06% popularity

I was recently asked if I was interested in writing a book for a pretty reputable publisher, which of course I accepted. I am not a writer by trade, I am a software developer with some technical writing training. The longest thing I have ever written is a dissertation on distributed computing, which is hardly the same as a book. Of course, this book is about a programming topic and needs to be instructional and informative. My problem is how to get started; I have been sitting at my computer now for about 3 hours and have re-written my introduction about 25 times now.

I am using Scrivener as my writing tool, which I have used for other reference-type works but for some reason I just have nothing in my brain to get started, my cork board is totally devoid of notes! I don't know what to do and I am feeling totally intimidated! Does anyone have advice for a first time book author to get started? I would be interested to know what your process is for getting started and how you organize thoughts!

Load Full (6)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Reiling826

6 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

There are some relevant and detailed answers here, to which I can only add my two cents, not a bit more :)