bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Wrote myself into a paradox and now demotivated - how to resolve? I'm a casual writer at best and tend to write in fits and starts when motivation hits. I tend to lack resolve and this leads - selfpublishingguru.com

10.04% popularity

I'm a casual writer at best and tend to write in fits and starts when motivation hits. I tend to lack resolve and this leads to writer's block.

I've been off-and-on writing a series of little vignettes in a universe my friends and I created. The current series is a (for me) fairly tight narrative where timing is very important. It's fey-based fantasy but revolving around a college, so events fall into a typical college schedule.

I have written several scenes that deeply clash timing-wise and I can't think of a way to reorder them without causing more problems. It boils down to the following:

Character meets other character at the start of winter break
Characters agree to do stuff that require classes to be started
A pre-Christmas party is had and plans are made for Christmas itself
The characters do their during-classes events
Christmas happens

Obviously this is a conflict and I can't find a way to solve it, but that's not the main concern of this question.

Because I've written myself into this paradox, I find myself unable to move forward in the narrative with it looming over me. However, I also can't see a way to resolve it without negatively altering the flow. I am, in short, completely blocked from writing at the moment.

How can I keep writing rather than linger over this paradox? I am reasonably certain that with enough distance and objectivity I could find a way around it, but it's weighing on me too heavily and I can't find motivation to keep writing.

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Sent2472441

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity