bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : Are all writers, readers? I am new to the writing scene but i have had the passion for it. One thing that has baffled my mind was how writers would not comment on other people's work but - selfpublishingguru.com

10.05% popularity

I am new to the writing scene but i have had the passion for it. One thing that has baffled my mind was how writers would not comment on other people's work but more concerned with their work. It has led me to ask this question.

Load Full (4)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Alves689

4 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Yes, of course. As all music producers are listeners.
All writers began writing under impression of something they've read before.
Usually, the early works of every writer look similar to something, that has been written before. It's ok while they are developing their own style.

Load Full (0)

10% popularity

Yes.

Not necessarily because every writer started off by reading something and saying 'I can do better than that'.

But because to become a great writer you need to study the greats in your craft, just as a scientist needs to learn the principles of their science and so will both do experiments for themselves and learn about other experiments that their peers have done in the past and conclusions that have been drawn.

In most cases great writers will be extremely well read, and will have absorbed and actively studied the techniques employed by other writers to achieve certain aims, such as creating a gripping plot, good pacing, eliciting emotions etc.

It is also useful to study the work of less accomplished writers (such as in a writing critique circle) to see how errors manifest and how they impact the writing.

In some cases writers may not be that widely read, but they will still be 'readers' of some kind or another.

At the very minimum - a writer must read over their own work!

Load Full (0)

10% popularity