bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : As a young author, how do you make people listen? I am an extremely young author. I don’t mean to sound like I’m bragging, but I think I am very good. They say the best readers are - selfpublishingguru.com

10.11% popularity

I am an extremely young author. I don’t mean to sound like I’m bragging, but I think I am very good. They say the best readers are the best writers, in a single day I once read a 700 page book. I read every book in the house. Twice. I got bored. I was staying up late because I couldn’t sleep the night before seventh grade. I walked to the other side of the room, pulled a random book off the shelf, and started to read.
The book I had randomly selected was an old leather bound classic,
Peter Pan. About a hundred pages in, I came across the list boys of never land. I read about how they were tromping through the woods, alone and scared, gripping daggers and wearing animal skins.
The light bulb above my head exploded with a book idea.
At least, at first it was a single book. Now it’s an eleven book series.
I finished my first book, and no one (by this I mean agents, editors, and publishers) is taking me seriously.
When I call them on the phone, they say they can help me out. But when they realize how young I am, they simply refuse.
What do I do?

Load Full (11)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Harper186

11 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Stop calling people on the phone for two reasons.
First, your voice will give away your age and your responses will give away your lack of experience.
Then, telephone is prolly the least-preferable method of first contact between writers and their agents, editors, and publishers)
When no one is taking you or your first book seriously, why are they wrong?
Why can you not ask for funds from friends, family or crowd-funding and publish your work yourself?

Load Full (0)

10% popularity

Here are a few: