bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How do I overcome my anxiety of writing again? You would note the use of the word 'again' in the title of my question. I wrote a number of short stories many years ago. This was when I - selfpublishingguru.com

10.05% popularity

You would note the use of the word 'again' in the title of my question.

I wrote a number of short stories many years ago. This was when I was doing my first degree (in literature) just after high school. There were no creative writing courses but just analysis of novels, plays and poetry in the first degree. The 'creative writing' part of me came out one day when I thought of entering into a student run short story writing competition.

Fast forward many years later: I started working, did my postgraduate degrees (including a doctorate) but these are not in literature. They are in economics. I am a researcher and the research is of the 'academic type', not creative writing.

Now that I have some free time (I am certainly not retired!!), I want to go back to creative writing. I know I can write because I have written 15 short stories and had them published in the local papers.

However, I get this lingering feeling that I cannot write any more.

Question: How can I overcome this anxiety of writing?

I saw a number of other related questions but in my case, it is neither a lack of motivation nor skill; it is just the fact that I cannot bring myself to write!

Load Full (5)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Harper186

5 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

I think the question of motivation is dependant on exactly what you want to achieve. You cant get motivated about a goal thats as amorphous as "start writing again". What I've found to be useful is to decide on smaller writing targets, and accomplishing those. Initially, just personal goals (for example, my goal for this month is to write a 2000 word story about regret).