bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How do I write a proper cover letter? I'm an engineer with a fair knowledge of the English language. I can converse with people in English and write as well, but now I'm interested in learning - selfpublishingguru.com

10.03% popularity

I'm an engineer with a fair knowledge of the English language. I can converse with people in English and write as well, but now I'm interested in learning to write cover letters and blogs. I see plenty of books on writing letters in different ways; however, I am still left with the following questions:

In what format can I write a cover letter?
Can I include technical terms in a cover letter?
Are cover letters sent through email differently than written letters?

Load Full (3)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Caterina108

3 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

1. In what format can I write a cover letter?

Read the job posting carefully and see if they have any requirements, number one priority is to follow all instructions exactly.

In general you want to start by stating the position you're applying for. After that you can use any format you'd like if you believe it will be professional and beneficial. There is no set format and I've gotten interviews from single paragraph cover letters, and from lengthy ones consisting of 5 or 6 paragraphs. It is about the structure, content, and reason. Just as any writing - say what needs to be said and remove the rest.

2. Can I include technical terms in a cover letter?

Absolutely. I would be be careful not to repeat your résumé though. If you state in your résumé, "skill in technical term" then there is no reason to repeat yourself in the cover letter.

3. Are cover letters sent through email different from written letters?