bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : If one's first book is one genre, will publishers be less likely to accept books of a different genre by the same author? I currently have two books, both roughly the same length and at the - selfpublishingguru.com

10.06% popularity

I currently have two books, both roughly the same length and at the same point in the editing/rewriting process, and while I would like to eventually publish them both, they are from two completely different genres. Book one is a middle-grade fantasy (with a somewhat similar feel to Diana Wynne Jones' work), while the other is more a work of literary fiction (no fantasy, normal world, for older/adult readers, about a disaster and the people impacted by it). And that's where the problem lies.

Although I would like both of them to be published, as an unpublished author I imagine it wouldn't be very realistic to try to get them both published at the same time, so I want to start with just one. However, assuming whichever one I go with is eventually published and does reasonably well, because the genres are so different will it make it more difficult to publish the second book?

If a book of one genre does well, will this make publishers less likely to accept something of a different genre by the same (new) author?

PS. I know that assuming that either of them would even get published, let alone do well, isn't exactly realistic, but this is more of a hypothetic worry than a real one at the moment.

Load Full (5)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Sarah872

5 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

Writers have faced this issue before. For example, I am a fan of the late Iain Banks. Some of his books are attributed to Iain M. Banks and some only to Iain Banks. As a fan, I know that when I see the middle initial I am more than likely going to read sci-fi set in the Culture.