bell notificationshomepageloginNewPostedit profile

Topic : How to "defy" physics on a sci-fi? I am an amateur at worldbuilding and I am already building a sci-fi themed world with fantasy elements. In my world there will be different kinds of new - selfpublishingguru.com

10.06% popularity

I am an amateur at worldbuilding and I am already building a sci-fi themed world with fantasy elements.
In my world there will be different kinds of new elements to the periodic table and some fantastic environments and creatures.

My question is: since my universe starts plenty of years before and after our actual time, how can I "defy" physics and include new elements to the periodic table? I don't want it to be hard science, I don't need a deep level of detail, just some theoretical science to push the existence of unknown periodic elements.

Tip: My "universe" is not and neither near Earth.

Load Full (6)

Login to follow topic

More posts by @Sent2472441

6 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

10% popularity

It depends how believable you want your story to be to someone who knows a little about science.

There are many things in science where it is very difficult to say what is possible or what might exist elsewhere in the universe. If you said that there is another planet out there somewhere with creatures who have blue skin and breath ammonia, who is to say that this is not possible? We have a lot to learn yet about the biology of creatures here on Earth, to say what the biology of creatures on another planet might be like is pure speculation.