logo selfpublishingguru.com

topic : My story is written in English, but is set in my home country. What language should I use for the dialogue? I'm an amateur writer from the Philippines. I am writing a novelette for an

Hamm6328258 @Hamm6328258

Posted in: #CreativeWriting #Dialogue #Fiction #Language #Style

I'm an amateur writer from the Philippines. I am writing a novelette for an international writing contest. My story is written in English, but is set here, in my country, with my POV character being a full blood Filipino. My question is, is it unnecessary to use my country's dialect as my characters' dialogue? should I just make it simple and just use English for their speech?

All of the conversation between the characters in the story is technically being said in my language. After all, English is not our main language. I myself think it is unnecessary to write the dialogue in our language, and then write the English translation afterwards. But I still did it anyway.

So am I doing it wrong after all? I need and expert's opinion about this. I feel like I should just write the dialogue in English, but I need an assurance if I really should. This is my first time writing a story. That's why I am a bit anxious about everything that I do.

10.1% popularity Vote Up Vote Down

0 Reactions   React

Replies (10) Report

10 Comments

Sorted by latest first Latest Oldest Best

@Merenda569

Merenda569 @Merenda569

I will add an example of literature being translated to English, on the grounds that due to language differences translation can be equivalent to writing a different story.